2015 MKC limp mode - Lincoln MKC Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-15-2019, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
2015 MKC limp mode

My car appears to go into what is described by other MKC owners as limp mode. A problem they are well aware of. As Iím driving it literally loses power on the highway going from 70 mph to 10 mph in seconds. I am in danger to get off of the road out of highway traffic. 7 times in 1.5 years and Lincoln says it isnít registering on the computer so they send me on my way. Iíve taken it to 3 different dealers over this time. Any thoughts?
Frustrated is offline  
post #2 of 3 Old 01-15-2019, 11:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Garage
Typically limp mode is associated with engine or transmission.
You can pick up an Bluetooth obdII reader and use the app Torque Pro
you can google more videos. This can help you diagnose and give an INDEPENDENT mechanic enough info to get it fixed.

or plan B Not very helpful here but---- sell it to carmax or something like that and pick up something newer or something else.

other video

2017 Burgundy MKC AWD Reserve 2.3L 20" rims, Tech Package, Climate Package,
Buckeye is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-22-2019, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Question

I had this happen once. Subaru Outback sat at the airport for a few weeks. Drove it about 5 miles and stopped to eat then when we started again it went into limp mode. It was a Sunday in a small town and nothing was open and we were 80 miles from home. I took a chance and disconnected the battery for a few minutes and it cleared the fault and it never recurred. Of course I did some research and the most likely culprit was a bit of moisture in the fuel from condensation which triggered the computer to put it in limp mode. Since I could not get it to duplicate it is anybody's guess to what actually caused it.
stmar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome