Lincoln MKC Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

This is my first time posting to this forum but after doing some research on here and the internet, i've not found a good solution.

My brand new 2017 MKC 2.3L (2 weeks old) with 700+ miles, has a fuel gauge that seems to think it has a 13 gallon fuel tank. Now, the first time i filled it up it was at 1/4 tank and it went FAST. I thought, wow this mileage is terrible. Then i filled it up, and it took like 9.3 gallons, and i thought wow this is a really small tank (~13 gallons). Then i looked it up and it says online 16.3. Odd. Happened again the next time, except i got better fuel mileage. OK. So then after i monitored the MPG and miles used, i saw that even though i was getting 20+mpg, it would always show a very low gas reading. Most recent example is 66 miles, 22mpg, and the fuel gauge is reading 71% (The app tells you %) when 66/22 is 3 gallons, 3/15.7=19%, so it should be showing 81%. The MTE also seems to be calculating off of this smaller fuel capacity.

I brought to the dealer (after initially they tried telling me it needed time to 'calibrate'), and they found nothing. No error codes, they drove it, calculated usage, and concluded that 1) gas tank is really 15.7 (the 16.3 includes expansion) 2) the gas pumps have errors and could throw it off.