Lincoln MKC Forum banner

21 - 35 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
I can confirm that the new module solved my issue. This was newer - AK version of the module, mine was older " EJ7T-14B673-AH ". Since the module came out of a newer MKC, I did not have to reflash the AS built (I also did not have a FORScan back up). Everything was now working/sounding perfect, but there was a newer config/software for the module in FORSCAN. So I backed up the AS Built and re-flashed it. I then re-wrote the as-built. All is good. Car driving like a champ. No more noise, no battery issue. I did reset the BSM module as I learned in other thread that needs to be done after a battery replacement as the battery charge allowed by software is reduced on purpose over time. I know this was not reset by FORD or me on the last 2 battery changes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
OK guys/girls, I picked up a 2015 MKC a few months ago for my wife, replacing a 2002 Durango. I drive my cars until the wheels fall off, then put em back on and drive some more. Needless to say we both love the MKC but are starting to see some issues.
1. No crank, battery is good. Disconnected the battery for 20 seconds, reconnect, started right up. Has not happened again but now I carry a 10mm wrench with me.
2. Rear Lift Gate making the triple clicking noise.
3. Battery going dead in 24 hours.
Got the full PDF service manual online for around $25, 14,000 pages so be prepared to read, no I will not share/send it to you. I'll see if I can find the link if anyone is interested.
Using Forscan and the OBDLink EX adapter (amazon), first thing I noticed that in the BCM, the battery charge was set to 85%, maybe this is to increase the incredibly short MKC battery life, NOT WORKING FORD!. I set mine to 100%, did not solve the battery drain issue. More on this later under a different header.

Rear Lift Gate noise was driving me nuts, and I figured contributed to the dead battery. Using Forscan, ran the RGTM test did not find a problem. Took the rear latch out of vehicle, checked all 5 switches in the latch, they seemed to be working OK. Put latch back in vehicle. The clicking, or dun-dun-dun noise is the latch going through its motions, when you close the lift gate, the latch senses the first latch position, then the cinch motor will pull the gate closed all the way, then the motor will reverse back to a neutral position. In a working vehicle, when you initiate a gate open, the cinch motor moves the other direction and released the latch, then the lift arm motor turns on and opens the gate. Checked the power/ground going to the RGTM, all ok.
I am an electronics guy so I had to tear into the RGTM itself looking for open solder joints or other problems. Did not find any apparent issues, but I did notice the rear lights do not work without the module installed. This is because when the gate is opened, Ford disables the rear lights, not sure why, maybe the engineers at Ford did not want to blind birds or something. Nice Design Guys, really stupid way to do this. Anyways, in the process of poking around in the RGTM, I must have pushed it over the edge. When I reinstalled it, it would not talk to Forscan anymore, but hay, by tail lights were working again. By the way, I left the interior panels off the vehicle to have access to the RGTM and latch, after I completely killed the module, the rear release button did not work anymore. I ordered a new module and installed it.
The latch cinch-neutral noise is now gone, I can open the lift gate using the rear button and Forscan can find the module. I am getting a RGTM Error of U201A:55-8A, RGTM not configured. I do not see any options in Forscan to do the initial PMI (Programmable Module Insertion) or reprogramming. For me, replacing the RGTM module solved part of my issue, I am sure if I can reprogram the RGTM the rest of the lift gate system would work. Sorry for writing a book, lets get this RGTM issue figured out!
If you go into the asbuilt for that module does it show anything? If so, just try "writing" over itself. If you have nothing there, then you need to get a AB file and load and write it.
 

·
Registered
2015 MKC
Joined
·
8 Posts
If you go into the asbuilt for that module does it show anything? If so, just try "writing" over itself. If you have nothing there, then you need to get a AB file and load and write it.
Thanks for the info. In the configuration and programming I have no options for programming. I am using Forscan 2.3.38, I can not find 2.4.x anywhere. I have the AB file from Ford.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
336 Posts
So since you've got a new rear gate module you will need to do the PMI, to do that you will go underneath module programming, as build for rgtm, load factory data, write.

Let me know if that works for you, by the way load factory data is only available on the newest versions of the software so if you don't have the newest versions try updating your forscan software
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
336 Posts
Thanks for the info. In the configuration and programming I have no options for programming. I am using Forscan 2.3.38, I can not find 2.4.x anywhere. I have the AB file from Ford.
You you will not need 2.4 for this, you can break a lot of stuff with 2.4 I would stick with 2.3 unless you're pretty good with forscan
 

·
Registered
2015 MKC
Joined
·
8 Posts
Thanks, I will try it with 2.3 and see where I get.
Forscan 2.3.38 would not detect the RGTM for programming. Found a version of 2.4.3, have extended license, it identifies the RGTM in the config and programming, does not display any as built info. Reads the module info. If I leave the To Program at Available, nothing happens. If I flip to Custom the Secondary Boot Loader found a file on the web (same as current) Strategy and EUC Config/Base Config are left blank, pushing Download again popup says "All necessary files are available, nothing to download".
 

·
Registered
2015 MKC
Joined
·
8 Posts
Forscan 2.3.38 would not detect the RGTM for programming. Found a version of 2.4.3, have extended license, it identifies the RGTM in the config and programming, does not display any as built info. Reads the module info. If I leave the To Program at Available, nothing happens. If I flip to Custom the Secondary Boot Loader found a file on the web (same as current) Strategy and EUC Config/Base Config are left blank, pushing Download again popup says "All necessary files are available, nothing to download".
Not sure why I am not seeing the As Built data?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
336 Posts
Forscan 2.3.38 would not detect the RGTM for programming. Found a version of 2.4.3, have extended license, it identifies the RGTM in the config and programming, does not display any as built info. Reads the module info. If I leave the To Program at Available, nothing happens. If I flip to Custom the Secondary Boot Loader found a file on the web (same as current) Strategy and EUC Config/Base Config are left blank, pushing Download again popup says "All necessary files are available, nothing to download".
Yes stay away from that section, you're in firmware update, that's where stuff is easy to break in the new 2.4.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
336 Posts
Another gentleman had a problem on here with communication to his rgtm, we ended up finding out he had no voltage showing, he bought the rtgm off of my parts car and that fixed his problem. First things first let's make sure that you are working in the right section.

Open configuration and programming, find our GTM you should have two or three options either module configuration, firmware update, module configuration as built format, leave firmware update alone. You want to click on module configuration as built format
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
336 Posts
I put a new DDM in my wife's car today trying to fix a issue I'm having, I made a video showing how to perform a PMI but the video didn't turn out to be all that beneficial I attached a screenshot to show you what it should look like, try to find the same section I did of course rgtm instead of DDM though
Screenshot_20210202-205451.jpg
 

·
Registered
2015 MKC
Joined
·
8 Posts
copbait, your Radio Transceiver Module (RTM) does not show any (AS BUILT format). This is exactly what I get with my RGTM, I don't think I have any choice other than reprogramming the module. I've checked powers/ground and all the wiring between the RGTM and the latch, all is good. Prior to installing the new RGTM, it would not recognize the module at all. Now it sees the RGTM but give me a configuration error.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
336 Posts
Okay let me double check, I assumed there was configurable programming for the trunk module I'll plug it into my Lincoln see what I get
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
336 Posts
Okay I apologize you are right there is no AS BUILT for this module. I wonder if it is forscan has forgot to put this information back into the newest versions or not. I checked back 4 versions and did not find it. I think your best bet would be to request forscan to add this to the next update. The are great and very helpful when I have asked them for help.
 

·
Registered
2015 MKC
Joined
·
8 Posts
copbait, No need to apologize, thanks for trying this. I have worked on cars for years, this MKC is by far the most electrified vehicle I've had. I will present it to FORScan and keep plugging away.
 
21 - 35 of 35 Posts
Top